SWC Library

                                                  Information Resources for an Intentionally Christian College


Online Databases

 Academic Search Elite                                                                                                                            A multidisciplinary database that contains full text for more than 2,000 journals. More than 140 journals have PDF images. Coverage is back to 1985.

ArticleFirst                                                                                                                                     contains the table of contents from journals on business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology and popular culture.

Business Source Elite                                                                                                                         This business database provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985.

Christian Periodical Index                                                                                                             This database indexes articles and reviews written from an evangelical Christian perspective or of interest to the evangelical community. CPI currently indexes over 130 selected publications from the broad spectrum of knowledge including religion, science, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, history, sociology, nursing, and education.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)                                                                             This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages.

ERIC                                                                                                                                                     Articles related to education are available in full text.

ERIC via FirstSearch 

EBooks                                                                                                                                                     This database contains the digital version of books through NetLibrary. These ebooks are also available through the library's online catalog.

FindArticles.com                                                                                                        FindArticles.com is focused on delivering the best and most essential search results. It has articles from thousands of resources, with archives dating back to 1984.

GPO                                                                                                                                                             This database indexes government publications including Congressional reports, debates and records; judiciary materials and documents issued by the executive branch.

Medline                                                                                                                                                          A medical database that indexes all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing.

PapersFirst                                                                                                                                             This database indexes papers discussed at scholarly meetings and conferences.

Proceedings                                                                                                                                             An index to worldwide conference proceedings.

PsycARTICLES                                                                                                                                             A full-text database of journals published by APA and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more.

PsycBOOKS                                                                                                                                                 An American Psychological Association database containing the full text of books  and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.

PsycINFO                                                                                                                                                     A database of scholarly literature from the American Psychological Association. Coverage includes journals, books, reviews, and dissertations of the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.

Regional Business News                                                                                                                     This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

WorldAlmanac                                                                                                                                 Includes the full text of Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and four almanacs.

WorldCat via Firstsearch                                                                                                        Connects you to the collections of more than 10,000 libraries nationally and worldwide.

WorldCatDissertations This database contains over 8 million records for dissertations and thesis on a variety of subjects.